Past winner award – 20182018-11-07T00:12:41+00:00

Past IsSDB Career Award Winners

The 2018 IsSDB Career Award was presented to Prof. Chaya Kalcheim of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem on March 11, 2018, in recognition of her significant contributions to the field of Developmental Biology and to the development of this research area in Israel. The ceremony took place at The Annual IsSDB Symposium on “Developmental Biology – The Next Generation” at the Weizmann Institute.

Selected wording from members in the award advisory committee:

“Chaya is a prominent developmental biologist, whose esteemed work on muscle patterning and neural crest cells is highly appreciated worldwide.”

“She published numerous seminal papers in two separate fields, neural crest development and somite development.”

“Her work is characterized by intellectual and experimental rigor and thoroughness, and her results have stood the test of time.”

“Her work integrates so many different layers of complexity in one system.”

“Chaya has always been a powerhouse of ideas and insights. She is highly visible in the international scene, and her presence at meetings is highly evident following her deep involvement in the topics she studies.”

“Chaya’s lab was initiated in the 1990s, and was one of very few pioneers that established the foundation for modern Developmental Biology in Israel.”

“The field of Developmental Biology in Israel would have been different today without her immense contributions.”

“Prof. Kalcheim was very active in the IsSDB and in general in the developmental biology field in Israel, organizing international meetings and other activities in Jerusalem.”

“Chaya’s contribution to teaching and educating a new generation of scientists is notable, and several of her former students are now independent researchers in Israel, continuing their research in the field of Developmental Biology…among her excellent graduate students and post-doctoral fellows are Dalit Sela-Donenfeld, Tali Cohen, Yuval Cinnamon and Ron Goldstein.”

Members of the IsSDB 2018 Career Award Advisory Committee:

  • Dr. Uri Abdu (Ben-Gurion University)

  • Prof. Eli Arama (Weizmann Institute)

  • Prof. Ruth Ashery-Padan (Tel Aviv University)

  • Prof. Yosef Gruenbaum (Hebrew University)

  • Dr. Peleg Hasson (Technion)

  • Prof. Ze’ev Paroush (Hebrew University)

  • Dr. Ram Reshef (University of Haifa)

  • Prof. Thomas M. Schultheiss (Technion)

  • Dr. Dalit Sela-Donenfeld  (Faculty of Agriculture, Hebrew University)

  • Prof. Ben-Zion (Benny) Shilo (Weizmann Institute)

  • Dr. Galit Shohat-Ophir (Bar-Ilan University)

  • Prof. David Sprinzak (Tel Aviv University)